It has been a long time I did something with the mc68332 processor.

One of the reasons was lack of time and also the absence of a parallel port in combination with 64 bit Windows OS.

In the ‘old XP days’ one used giveio.sys to get direct access to the I/O instructions so the parallel port could be used to control an ICD BDM adaptor using the parallel port.

With the advent of 64 bits OS and the missing of a parallel port I had to place the project a bit on ice, also there were some other projects which got in the way.

But there is new hope: http://www.codeproject.com/Tips/985807/Enable-I-O-Access-From-User-Mode

There is a giveio for 64 bits!

Now I have to recreate the gnu tools set again for the mc68332 on Cygwin and 64 bits.
This page is a good start: http://www.ifp.illinois.edu/~nakazato/tips/xgcc.html althought this is for PowerPC and for MIPS.

Also since my DELL Latitude E6420 doesn’t have a parallel port I got myself a docking station with a parallel port. The one I got also came with a lot more USB ports, and even old style PS/2 plugs, a serial port, two DVI ports and 1 VGA port.

Binutils, gcc, newlib and gdb can be downloaded from the various usual locations. The current BDM tools set can be found here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bdm/?source=typ_redirect

The BDM tools at this stage process a challenge: they compile but at many places unsigned long int is used which becomes a 64 bit on a 64 bit OS.
This I need to fix before I’ll start with gdb and running my old programs again on the mc68332 board I once designed. Initial testing shows promise.

I’ll follow up, including code changes for the BDM lib to make this running on Cygwin 64 bits.

Link | This entry was posted in mc68332 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

